Cupcake Plates, Kitchen Decor and Decoupage From Das Soul

I prepared my husband for what was about to go down in our kitchen.   He’ll probably start taking his meals outdoors…what with the pink and all.  But I wanted sweets, ya’ll!  Confections!  Carbs!  Sugary Morsels of Sinful Indulgence!!  I blame it on the kid…she’s been watching that dadgum Willy Wonka movie every day for the past month.

So…I painted these plates and hung them on the wall.  The little cupcakes in the middle of the plate are actually 15-cent window-clings that I found at Target (90% off Valentine merchandise!).  I realize some “mature” adults would find my decorating tastes rather juvenile.  But I don’t care.  You’re not the boss of me.

Then…I found this $5 curtain sheer at Ross and got to staplin’.  Ta Da!  And the wreath?  $1.75.  75% off all Valentine thangs at Joann’s.

A friend of mine came over a couple of days ago with a genius decoupage idea and it turned out swell.  Naturally, it inspired me to do some decoupaging of my very own..and the ideas won’t stop!  But this is what I started…and I’m not really sure where it’s going other than it will be an interactive piece of art that tells a story.  A story about a girl.  I made a little book to go in the cover pocket…and here’s what I wrote inside:

Once upon a time, a wounded girl-child was found wandering under a Violet Moon…unsure of her origin…without guide or protector.

Mother Earth sheltered the child, guiding her into woman-hood…careful to let Life teach her its lessons.

The woman…again wounded.  Fearful of all, trusting of none.  Until Mother Earth made time stand still…to remind the woman of her One True Source.

Within this purgatory, the woman was healed.  Reminded by Spirit that wounds can be bandaged.  Hearts can be mended.  Souls can be saved…forgiveness given.

Her story…Re-Written.

One Response

  1. These plates are so beautiful. Thanks for the inspiration!

Leave a Reply

