“Dotcom” Turns 25

Twenty-five years ago…March 15th to be exact….a small computer manufacturer from Massachusetts casually registered a domain name: Symbolics.com.

I’m sure they had no idea they were leaving such a profound footprint on our technological history…and back then, no-one would’ve given two cents and a flip about the significance of this particular registry anyway.  200,000,000 registrations later, however….and everyone accepts and recognizes the familiar “.com” as gospel truth and anything less seems…well…less than.  .net, .org….they just don’t have the muscle that .com flexes.

I can’t even begin to pontificate on what’s in store for the next 25 years, technologically speaking.  But there IS someone with a theory or two….one of the few female “Artists” that I respect and idolize.  That being Arianna Huffington, Empress of huffingtonpost.com.  Why do I refer to her as an “Artist” instead of a writer?  Because the true definition of an artist is “a person whose creative work shows sensitivity and imagination.”

Arianna Huffington is a brilliant wordsmith with a penetrating mind and sharp wit that colors ever syllable of her writing.  Her unabashed fearlessness to speak her truth….regardless of its popularity…is what puts her on my “Idol” list.  That kind of fearlessness is called conviction.  It’s the kind of stuff that HAS to be said.  But it takes a special mind to see the core of the matter and convey that message to the masses without making them all feel stupid and ignorant.  That’s showing “sensitivity and imagination”.

Arianna gives her crystal ball predictions of what may be in store for the next 25 years in her article entitled, “Dotcom” Turns 25: My Predictions for What  Comes Next. Toward the end of her article she began speaking my language.  Four years ago, CNN quoted my comments on the family of the future:

“Unfortunately, I feel that the family of the future will be spinning in their own personal electronic worlds. iPods, gaming, Blackberries, computers, etc. This is sad to me because we will have lost the era of actually sitting down and spending quality time with our family members without the interruption of things that can be plugged in.”

Over the course of the past four years, I’ve written countless articles about the art of silence and the morphing of a techno-addicted species.  On the sacred importance of uniting the Mind-Body-Spirit so that we, as human beings, can function on all cylinders without the downward pull of negativity and stress.  Here’s Arianna’s brilliant prediction:

“I predict that, in the future, someone will create a killer app that gauges the state of your mind, body, and spirit and automatically offers the exact steps you need to take to realign all three aspects of your being. Think of it as an internal GPS designed to show you the best route to realigning your mind, body, and soul — leaving you more able to access your wisdom and creativity. Use it to arrive at optimal living.

The first 25 years of .com have been a time of online miracles. My crystal ball sees more explosive wonder just ahead. The challenge will be to direct that combustible creativity to solving our needs for more truth, more transparency, and more wisdom.”

I’m jumping on THAT bandwagon as we speak.  Sure, a “Zen App” would rock the cosmos….but would we be willing to do the work to realign?  Would we be willing to shut out the conflict and drama that bombards us through television, radio and the ‘net every millisecond of the day?  Could we give up Twinkies for broccoli?  Could we dedicate ourselves to a full 8 hours of sleep every night? Would we be able to take time out of our day to spend in quiet meditation with NO distractions?  Eat supper with our family every night?  Could we forgive and begin to love our neighbor, even if he throws trash in our yard every 2nd Wednesday of the month?  Could we let go of the grudges we’ve held onto like Linus’ blankie?  Could the human race make all of these changes…then keep it in a holding pattern?  Therein lies the potential for a miracle.

I’m all about miracles.  They’re happening all around us.  I can’t make choices for the human population.  But I can do MY part.  I can make the choice to use the miracle of technology in a way that gives back and brings peace to myself and those who read my musings (all five of them!).  I can choose to use the internet to educate myself, implement my findings and share them via my blog.  I can choose to NOT go read about who is sleeping with who on what porch in what subdivision on some random smut-site.

We all can make choices.  Just yesterday my husband said, “I don’t have a choice!” when I jumped his junk about going into the office sick as a dog.  I reminded him that yes….you DO have a choice.  And you’re choosing not to make one.  A choice within a choice!  A choice samich!  Some choices are easy to make.  Others…not so much.  It’s usually the difficult choices that are paramount in shaping our character and lives.

So today, I choose to give props to Arianna Huffington and her brilliant choice of creating the “Huff-Po”.  Of saying what needs to be said, even if it means ticking some people off.  I don’t care what color flag she flies…red…blue.  I don’t care who she voted for.  I’m digging on her message.  I’m digging on her spunk.

The ultimate Zen-Challenge for me?  Writing a positive article about Rush Limbaugh.  Much meditation and fasting will be in order.  But stay tuned….I’m gonna do it.  It’s gonna hurt….but pain is good.  Right?  RIGHT?!

You gain strength, courage, and confidence by every experience in which you really stop to look fear in the face… The danger lies in refusing to face the fear, in not daring to come to grips with it… You must make yourself succeed every time. You must do the thing you think you cannot do.”
~ Eleanor Roosevelt

One Response

  1. Thank you for your post, and I agree with you 100 percent. I really like Ariana Huffington. I listen to what she has to say. Sadly, I think you have given yourself too great a challenge in trying to find something positive to say about Rush Limbaugh. He sits in front of a microphone, collecting his 80 million a year, and trying to tell us middle-class suckers what we should think. I’m not buying it!

Leave a Reply

