The Dangers of Texting and Driving (Warning: Graphic Video)

If I’ve said it once, I’ve said it a thousand times.  If you want to get the attention of today’s youth, you’ve got to come at them in an aggressive way.  These kids are so desensitized that if the message isn’t forceful with some sort of shock value, they don’t hear or see it.  I don’t know of one Public Service Announcement in this country that had made a sizable impact on young people. It’s like we want to send a message but don’t want to offend anyone in the process.  Sometimes you HAVE to offend for the greater good.

The United Kingdom seems to understand this concept entirely.  They’ve been bombarded with criticism due to a Public Service Announcement that was aired last year, showing a gruesome car accident that occurred when a car full of young girls were too busy texting to pay attention to the road.  Is the video gruesome?  Yes.  But so are car crashes.  They’re not pretty.  When I saw this video for the first time, I was visibly shaken.  Yeah, it’s that powerful.  It’s vividly stuck with me since I watched it over a year ago.

If my daughter were of driving age, I’d sit her down and make her watch the video too.  If the gruesome image of blood, gristle and bone keeps my daughter safe, then I’m all for it.  YouTube has flagged the video as “Adult Content”, meaning you have to be over 18 to view it.  Kids start driving at 15 years of age.  Therein lies the problem.

I do warn you, this video is harsh but extraordinarily realistic.  I challenge you to sit down and watch it with your teen.  Maybe these images will save their lives down the road.

Leave a Reply

