Titanic Anniversary

In lieu of focusing on the tragedy of income tax, today I will focus on another tragedy: The sinking of the Titanic.  On April 15, 1912, the “unsinkable” ship…well….sunk.  Since I was a kid, the whole Titanic thing has intrigued me.  I’ll admit it here today.  I went to the theatre and saw the movie Titanic approximately 10 times.  It may have been more…but I stopped counting at 10.  I used to have it on VHS, but it somehow vanished.  I think my husband had something to do with it, but he ain’t talkin’.  So I reckon I’ll have to get it on DVD. 

What was it like on that boat?  It must’ve been grand.  Truly.  Even in THIS day and age, that boat would’ve been remarkable.  So I can only imagine the allure it held back in 1912.  And who’s to say a Titanic-esque love story didn’t go down prior to the sinking?  When that geek in his mama’s basement gets his time travelling machine fine-tuned, the scene of the Titanic will be one of the first places I visit.  Prior to the sinking, of course. 

For those of you who give a hoot, here are some random Titanic facts:

*  Each first class passenger paid a whopping $4,350 for a parlor suite ticket and $150 for a berth ticket.

*  The largest percentage of survivors came from first class passengers.

*  It cost $7,500,000 to build the Titanic.

*  Sadly, Captain Smith had made plans to retire after seeing the Titanic safely across the Atlantic on her maiden voyage.

*  Among the provisions when the Titanic set sail in Southampton, England were 40,000 eggs, 75,000 pounds of fresh meat and 1,000 bottles of wine.

*  Even though directions have been given for women and children to board the lifeboats first, a number of men were reported as survivors while a surprisingly large number of women and children perished in the disaster. Most of the women and children lost in the sinking came from second and third class.

*  It took three years to fully construct the ship.

*  The ship contained a heated swimming pool, a first for any sailing vessel.

*  The ship was still so brand new when passengers boarded it on April 10, 1912 that the paint was still wet in some spots.

30 Responses

  1. interesting facts – thanks for sharing!
    I have a seen the movie a half dozen times myself, haha.

    http://www.tracyzhangphoto.wordpress.com/

  2. stupid people, that ship took 3 years to make and it sunk 2 days after its first departure.

  3. How much is #4350.00 in today’s dollars. Good post!

  4. I didn’t know some of those facts. I like this article.

  5. I didn’t know a lot of that info. Very interesting.

  6. An interesting question is this: What is the most famous ship in the English speaking world? There are a few candidates, but I suspect that Titanic takes it. (If not, it is certainly not distanced by far.)

    I am from Sweden: What is the most famous ship of Sweden? Probably Vasa.

    What do these two ships have in common? I will leave that as an exercise to the reader, but the answer is quite interesting with regard to what fame proves or does not prove. (There are a few other lessons to learn from Vasa and Titanic, but those are for another context.)

  7. Good post! Interesting facts. More backup for my reasoning NEVER to get on a cruise ship. Yikes!

  8. nice article .. very sad accident 😦

  9. Yes, i did a project for this at my school for something called expert project. this disaster was really tragic. very sad.

  10. My husband built a model of the Titanic (from a box), but added pieces of plastic on the inside for the water compartments that were supposed to keep the real Titanic from sinking. He also punched holes where it struck the iceberg. Then he and the kids would “sink the Titanic” in the bathtub. 🙂 Our son did a science fair project with it, too, explaining buoyancy and why the Titanic sunk, then he’d place it in a fishtank full of water so the kids could watch it sink.

    My husband’s an engineer and always thought there had to have been SOMETHING someone could have done to prevent the Titanic’s sinking.
    We loved the Reading Rainbow episode, when the kids were little, showing Robert Ballard discovering the Titanic. I heard the huge retrieval vessel he constructed to attempt to raise it up off the sea floor was really to retrieve a Russian nuclear sub, and the Titanic expedition was just a cover.

    Anyway, thanks for the reminder of this being the anniversary of the that horrible, horrible tragedy.

    Gloris

  11. It sounds like the US of A right now, a sinking ship.

  12. thanks for sharing! loved your post since i am a total Titanic fan! I’ve seen it approximately 20 times:) I was so lost in love with Di Caprio that I cried like crazy after the 1st time i saw the movie. weird thing is i cried after i went back home.. not even a single tear during it!

  13. What happened with the Titanic is indeed one of the world’s greatest tragedies in history. One good thing can come out of this tragedy and that is to learn from the mistakes. One such mistake that all of us can learn is to not cut corners. If we do a job right the first time we can certainly stop tragedy from occuring in the first place.

  14. So, RE: Webeneezer’s post: I think it would be about $78,500 in today’s money. (looking at about 98years and a discount rate of 3%) 🙂

  15. very informatics, I have learn a lot from reading here.

  16. Quite a good post. I didn’t know all those trivia!
    I’ve watched the movie only on cable and only the parts before the sinking. I don’t like tragedies

  17. Man, if I could go back in time and bet on the iceberg I’d be rich!

  18. Wow, $7.5 million is it? Great stat.

  19. I am commenting for the first time. One of the most haunting things about the Titanic story is the man who said that not even God himself could sink that ship. I think there is indeed a lesson for us. God cannot be mocked. The arrogance of man is really shown in this event.

  20. cool! good read. amazing.

  21. Interesting facts. 😀
    Thumbs up.

  22. Very interesting read- and checked out your art work- fabulous stuff!

  23. Interesting facts. Titanic thing indeed intrigues probably many people.
    705 people were rescued from over 2,200 on board, more than 30% survived.

  24. Great article. I have always been intrigued by the Titanic since being a small boy too. Other ships and tragedies, or the ocean, interest me at all – but the Titanic story is somehow different! Are we maybe reincarnations of those perished?

    • Houdini: I’ve always felt that same intrigue/connection/obsession with the Titanic since I was a child too, and have also often wondered if I was a passenger on her in a past life. I know that sounds weird to most people, but I have also read or heard it said, that if a person feels a strong connection with a particular place, time or event then it’s very possible that they were there, in a past life! 🙂

      Thankyou for sharing this article. I’m a huge Titanic fanatic (of the real thing, not the movie – although I do love the James Cameron film). I can’t wait for the 100th anniversary in 2 years time! 🙂

  25. thanks 🙂 I like to know everything about Titanic… Adore the movie also!

  26. I love the movie too! But I wish that is showed more of the courage and sacrifice that many made that night. Also, the captain actually actively tried to communicate with the Californian. I love the following article:

    Titanic Tragedy: http://www.biblical-counsel.org/ga-01.htm

  27. Hello, April!

    I have to say this is a serendipitous post, and for that reason, decided to post a comment … I saw your intriguing post on the WordPress Home page. The reason it’s intriguing to me is that I work for a really wonderful spiritual medium, and we’ve just published — on the April 15th anniversary!– a re-release of a classic book that originally appeared in 1922, called “The Blue Island” — which is a channeled account of what happened to the victims of the Titanic’s sinking… as they left this world and entered the spirit world, more or less as a group. It is a fascinating account, and while not everyone believes these kinds of accounts, this one is nevertheless very fascinating. I spent a lot of time studying the origin of this book and its original author; he was a very famous person in the early development of the Spiritualism movement both in America and the UK.

    Anyway, a very timely post… if you’re interested, here’s a short blurb about our new book: http://tinyurl.com/y49uhb7 and feel free to email me personally for more information– LynnAIMfan@gmail.com

    Happy “Anniversary” !!! 🙂

    Lynn

    oh, P.S. — I’m also an avid scrapbooker, and paper crafter…

  28. I saw the movie about 10 times and I want to see it again!!…..

Leave a Reply

