Canker

Canker

I am unaware of the rot and corrosion

Within my brain.

My mouth.

My insides.

I smell chemical.

I smell

Dead.

I haven’t peed in 4 days.

I seem to have acquired a nervous twitch.

My skin is falling off.

I hate this place.

I hate these people.

Their eyes are void.

Their souls

Diseased.

Perfume and make-up won’t help you.

Go ahead.

Scrub yourself raw with lye soap.

You’re still

Dirty.

You’re still

Ugly.

Your house is still filthy.

The trash hasn’t been taken out for days.

Maybe weeks.

You might want to check on your kid.

I heard her crying in her room last night.

I haven’t seen her eat since last week.

They shut your phone

Off.

The lights don’t turn on anymore.

Something rotten is seeping out of the refrigerator.

Maybe that ground beef you bought two years ago.

Maggots have replaced the freezer burn.

You might want to check on that.

Don’t look now.

Everyone is laughing at

You.

You’re a joke.

A clown.

They avoid you.

Maybe because you beg.

Lie.

Cheat.

Steal.

Use.

Abuse.

Demean.

Demoralize.

Neglect.

Blight.

You’re a confused soul

Stuck

In a defective body.

Trapped.

No way out.

Someone should put you out of your misery.

Which would put people out of THEIR

Misery.

You ARE stupid.

You ARE a whore.

Noone is fooled.

You’re last week’s conversation

In a bathroom stall

At some seedy bar.

Go away.

I’m going to clean my

Brain.

Brush my

Teeth.

Take a shower.

I’ll step on your head as I

Walk

Out

The

Door.

(written by April Trice)

Leave a Reply

