Deep Fried Southern Racism

When I first moved the South, I was blown away by the blatant racism that still abounds.  It was like a time warp.  Things happen down here that would NEVER happen up North.  At least not to this degree.  But I was positively enraged and disgusted when I heard about the comments of John Williams….an old white councilman of Warner Robbins, Georgia…and his outright slur against a fellow African-American councilman.

Here’s the verbal exchange along with the video (click image).

“I was disrespected last Monday. I’m getting about tired of you all, talking to me any kind of way. I’m not working in a cotton field,” Lee said.

Williams paused for a second and then replied, “You should be.”

I could go on and on about the triflin’ stupidity of John Williams.  But I’ll refrain.  I’ll simply say that he’s the walking epitome of an ignorant, old, southern, white racist who ought to be ashamed of himself and stripped of his title and position.  Since he’s worked in cotton fields before…maybe he could get a job doing THAT. 

“Racial superiority is a mere pigment of the imagination.”

~Author Unknown

Leave a Reply

